Butternut Squash Chili

One of my goals for 2011 was to try one new food per month.  I have slowly learned to try new foods and recipes but I wanted to challenge myself to be more adventurous with food!  The new food I selected for January was butternut squash.  I had never tasted butternut squash or prepared a recipe containing butternut squash. 

IMG_2217

I have quite a few recipes containing butternut squash starred in my Google Reader that I have intentions of trying however, I was looking through a magazine while waiting at the dentist office on Monday and found the recipe I wanted to try to introduce myself to butternut squash. 

Butternut Squash Chili (adapted from Family Circle)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 of a large butternut squash, seeds removed, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 lg. onion, peeled and chopped
  • 1 lg. green bell pepper, cored, seeds removed, and chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 can (14.5 oz.) no-salt-added diced tomatoes
  • 1/8 c. chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. allspice
  • 1 can (15.5 oz.) kidney beans, rinsed and drained

1.  Heat oven to 400*.  Place squash on a baking sheet and toss with 1 tbsp. olive oil and 1/4 tsp. salt.  Bake at 400* for 30 minutes.  Set aside.

IMG_2228

2.  In a large pot, heat remaining tbsp. olive oil over medium heat.  Add onions, peppers and garlic.  Cook approximately 8 minutes until peppers and onions have softened, stirring occasionally.

IMG_2218

IMG_2225

3.  Add tomatoes, chili powder, cinnamon, sugar, allspice and remaining 1/2 tsp. salt. Simmer 15 minutes over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally.

IMG_2223

IMG_2220

IMG_2227

4.  Stir in cooked squash and beans.  Simmer 5 minutes.

IMG_2229

IMG_2234

5.  Serve chili as preferred. 

IMG_2238

I served my chili over some whole grain penne pasta with a spoonful of plain 0% Chobani Greek yogurt on top.  I also made a box  of Jiffy Cornbread (followed the directions on the package) to go with my chili.

IMG_2219

IMG_2231

The chili was amazing!  I loved the flavor of the butternut squash!  The chili was also pretty sweet, next time I will probably omit the sugar because I don’t really think it was needed.  Since I’m the only one in my house that will eat the chili I have plenty leftover.  I’m looking forward to the leftovers because chili always tastes just as good the next day!

This entry was posted in Eats, Goals, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Butternut Squash Chili

  1. Pingback: Healthy Meals | Sue's Healthy Lifestyle

  2. Butternut chili!? That’s too legit lol glad you liked it :)

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Butternut Squash Chili « Health in Real Life -- Topsy.com

  4. That looks awesome! I like the idea of serving it over the pasta. I have never thought of that.
    & Jiffy, that’s my FAVORITE. I could eat it every single day.

    • Karen says:

      The pasta was great with the chili! The hearty pasta helped to absorb some of the flavors of the chili…awesome! I love the Jiffy cornbread with butter…yummy!

  5. hello yumville! i love me some chili and butternut squash- put em together and its perfect!

  6. Pingback: Pumpkin Perfection « Health in Real Life

  7. Pingback: Pumpkin Perfection | Health in Real Life

Leave a Reply

