Shipping From Where?

I’ve been on the hunt for a small shaker to use for my protein shakes.  We have a few large shakers but they are so large that it’s awkward for me to use them because my small hands can barely hold it enough to shake it.  I finally found one that I liked on BodyBuilding.com

mini_shaker_130_black

(source)

It was exactly the size I wanted – 12 oz. – and it was on sale for $1.49!!!  Only $1.49!!  So of course I ordered two – one for home and one for work.  I also ended up ordering some vitamins (finally – I’ve been stealing Princess vitamins for a few weeks now) and some calcium chews since I’m almost out of current calcium supplement. 

When I completed the order and got my shipping e-mail from BodyBuilding.com I was surprised to see that all of the items in my order were being shipped from PA.  Being curious, I searched the BodyBuilding.com website to find the location of their PA warehouse. 

I was shocked to learn that BodyBuilding.com had a distribution warehouse in Shiremanstown, PA – 9.2 miles from my house (per Google Maps).  In other words – I just paid $6.95 to have a package shipped from a warehouse 9.2 miles from my house!!  Really??!!  I could have driven to the warehouse and back in 20 minutes!  Why did it take 2 days for my package to arrive via UPS?? 

This isn’t the first time this has happened either!  Amazon.com has a few warehouses in Central PA, one of which I can see from my backyard and could walk to if need be.  One time I ordered something from Amazon (I don’t remember what it was) but wouldn’t you know…it was shipped from the warehouse in my backyard!! Fortunately, when it comes to Amazon purchases I typically make sure to take advantage of the free Super Saving Shipping so I doubt I actually paid for shipping. 

Do you ever wish that sometimes you could save time and money if a company would just let you pick your package up from a local warehouse??  Has this ever happened to anyone else?

Eats:

  • Breakfast – protein overnight oats w/ frozen blueberries, coffee

IMG_2475

  • AM Snack – protein shaker (in my new shaker) and half an apple

IMG_2478

  • Lunch – awesome salad w/ spinach, tomatoes, cucumbers, sliced almonds, dried cranberries, feta cheese, tuna and balsamic vinaigrette dressing, Larabar

IMG_2479

IMG_2480

  • PM Snack – Valentine’s Day treat brought in my a coworker -aren’t they cute? – they are peanut butter sandwich crackers dipped in chocolate – delicious!

IMG_2481

IMG_2482

  • Dinner – pre-workout was a piece of bread with peanut butter – post workout was another protein shake (I can’t believe I had 3 scoops of protein today – eek!)

IMG_2483

Exercise:

  • Legs strength training
  • Abs

Getting ready to cheer on the UNC Tarheels – Go Heel Go!!!

This entry was posted in Eats, Exercise, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.