First Successful Bowl of Oats

I have been enjoying overnight oats for several months now and I love the heartiness of the breakfast and the fact that the oats keep me full longer than any other breakfast I eat.  I have tried a few times to make warm oats and every attempt has ended in failure.  I tried the microwave…disgusting!  I tried the stove…disgusting.  I could not figure out what I was doing wrong…too much liquid, too little liquid, cooking too long, cooking not long enough…the list goes on.

 

This morning I wanted to try again to make a bowl of warm oats.  The chilly temps have left me longing for a warm breakfast in the morning.  I started by combining 2/3 c. unsweetened vanilla almond milk, cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice in a sauce pan on the stove.  I boiled the liquid and then stirred in 1/3 c. quick oats.  I stirred those in and let them simmer for about 1 minute.  Then I added a heaping spoonful of canned pumpkin and stirred that together until everything was warmed through.  I poured the oats into a bowl and added a heaping spoonful of Dark Chocolate Dreams Peanut Butter.

 

IMG_1759

 

The result was DELICIOUS!  I am so proud of myself for finally making a bowl of edible oats!!  I was impressed with how quickly the bowl came together and hope that I can make these during the week when I have to work.  I ate every bite of the oats!! 

 

Plans for the rest of the day include Halloween crafts with the girls, a trip to the library and lots of laundry.  I love not working on Fridays, it’s a great day at home with my girls.

 

What are your plans for today/the weekend?

 

This entry was posted in Eats and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First Successful Bowl of Oats

  1. Have a great day crafting! I wish I had good craft ideas. M lacks the artsy fun with her mommy.

    Those oats sound great!

    • Karen says:

      I’m not super crafty either, I tried to stay pretty basic with just puppets and orange construction paper pumpkins. They had fun making them and that’s all that matters!

  2. Your too funny about the oats 🙂 I think my trick for making them better in the microwave was adding the banana to the oats BEFORE cooking them. It made them SO creamy & so good!
    But, there really is nothing like overnight oats- they are fantastic & I always look forward to starting my morning with them…if I remember to make them the night before…that’s the trick 😉
    Enjoy your weekend!!

Leave a Reply

