Variety is the Spice of Life

I will be the first one to admit that I need variety in my workouts!  I get really bored doing the same thing over and over and over again.  If I get bored mentally by doing the same workout repeatedly I can only imagine how bored my muscles get with repetitive workouts. 

 

I do not belong to a gym so all of my workouts are done at home or outdoors.  Kyle has been involved in strength training since before I met him so he was instrumental in getting out home gym set up.

 

2010 - November

 

We have pretty much everything we need at home…a pulley system, a bench, various barbell plates, various dumbbells, a stability ball, an elliptical machine and a treadmill. 

 

I like to change up my routines every 4 weeks or so in order to give myself the variety that I need to stay motivated.  For the month of November I have been following a cardio heavy workout plan.  My typical weekly workout looks like this:

  • Monday – off (Mondays are almost always my off day no matter what workout plan I’m following)
  • Tuesday – Legs strength training
  • Wednesday – 30 minutes elliptical
  • Thursday – 20 minutes HIIT on the treadmill (or an off day depending on how my week went)
  • Friday – 30 minutes elliptical
  • Saturday – Legs strength training
  • Sunday – 20 minutes treadmill & 20 minutes elliptical

I really enjoy my sweaty cardio sessions but I’m looking forward to December and getting back into more strength training.  I have already started planning some workouts that I would like to include in my strength training circuits next month. 

 

How do you keep variety in your workouts?  What other home gym equipment would you recommend?

 

This entry was posted in Exercise and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Variety is the Spice of Life

  1. Oh my goodness- your @ home gym is AWESOME!!

Leave a Reply

