Protein Pancakes

Every Sunday morning for the past 4 or 5 years I have made pancakes for breakfast.  I have always used a boxed mix that only required the addition of water to make the pancakes.  For many years I made two batches, one with a handful of fruit mixed in the batter for myself and the other with handfuls of chocolate chips for the kids and Kyle. 

 

When I decided to get healthy I gave up eating the pancakes on Sunday mornings but continued to make them for Kyle and the kids.  The mix that we use contains white flour, sugar and a ton of other ingredients I couldn’t even begin to pronounce.  I opted to make myself a breakfast that was healthier and contained items I could actually pronounce or recognize.  The pancakes that I used to eat did not keep me full or satisfied through my Sunday morning workouts whereas the other breakfasts, like oatmeal or eggs gave me the energy I needed. 

 

Kyle suggested trying some protein pancakes in order to increase the nutritional value of the Sunday morning breakfast.  Yesterday I did a Google search for “protein pancakes” and it did not take long before I came across Janetha’s Protein Pancakes/Waffles.  Looking over the ingredients I knew right away these pancakes were going to be my first attempt at protein pancakes.

 

IMG_1895 

 

These pancakes were DELICIOUS!  The recipe called for vanilla extract but unfortunately I did not have any so I just added an extra shake of cinnamon instead.  I am pleased to report that Kyle really enjoyed them as well.  There was so much batter that I have an extra serving (or two) to enjoy as breakfast later in the week!

 

Once we use up the remainder of the boxed pancake mix in the pantry I fully intend on making these pancakes every Sunday for everyone in our house to enjoy!  I am so happy to be able to enjoy pancakes on a Sunday morning again!  I am also looking forward to adding different fruits to the batter to make endless combinations of pancakes.  Thanks to Janetha for sharing a great recipe!!!

 

Plans for rest of the day include an upper body circuit workout and watching a Barbie movie with the kiddos!  We have nothing else planned and I love it!!  Enjoy your Sunday!

 

This entry was posted in Eats and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Protein Pancakes

  1. I LOVE Janetha’s protein pancake recipe! I think they taste so good. Extra cinnamon is always great! 🙂
    Hope you have a fun time watching the movie- nothing better than lazy Sundays!

Leave a Reply

