Buckeye Recipe

My dad spent the majority of his childhood in Ohio and my grandparents still live there today.  Growing up, my Nana would always make Buckeyes for us at Christmas time.  Buckeyes are essentially peanut butter balls dipped in chocolate however the chocolate does not completely cover the peanut butter. The cookies are made to resemble the buckeye nut.

buckeye-tree-nut-lg

(source)

Buckeyes:

  • 2 cups peanut butter (I recommend Reese’s Peanut Butter)
  • 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 stick softened butter
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract

Mix all ingredients in a large mixing bowl.  Roll dough into small balls.  Place on cookie sheet lined with wax paper and refrigerate for 15 minutes.

  • 1 bag of chocolate chips
  • 1/3 block of paraffin wax

Melt chocolate chips and paraffin wax together in heavy saucepan.

Using a toothpick, dip the peanut butter dough balls into the chocolate leaving a small opening at the top.  Place the balls back on the wax paper and refrigerate for 30 minutes until chocolate is hardened. 

Store in refrigerator.

IMG_2052

These cookies are the only cookie I made for Christmas this year.  I absolutely LOVE my buckeye cookies!  I can’t keep my hands out of the cookie jar! 

I hope everyone enjoys the recipe as much as I do!

 

This entry was posted in Eats, Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

