Changing It Up

dumbells-chrome

(Source)

As a new month begins its time for me to change up my workout routine.  Today I tried a new workout I found in Muscle & Performance Magazine, a monthly circular from The Vitamin Shoppe.  The instructions in the magazine tell you to pick 10 to 12 exercises from a list on the page, alternating between a “Timed Exercise” and a “10-Rep Exercise.”  Since it was my first time through the workout I chose just 10 exercises.

For the “Timed Exercises”, you perform 4 minutes of the exercise by rotating 40 seconds on and 20 seconds off.  For the “10-Rep Exercise” you also perform 4 minutes of the exercise, however you do 10 reps then rest for 20 seconds until you reach 4 minutes. 

I chose the following exercises from the list provided in the magazine:

  • Jumping Jacks (Timed Exercise)
  • Tricep Dips (10-Rep Exercise)
  • Mountain Climbers
  • One-Arm Dumbbell Rows
  • Superman
  • Deadlifts (the list had Single-Leg Romanian Deadlifts – I modified this one)
  • High-Knee Run-in-Place
  • Push-ups
  • Medicine-Ball Slam (I used a football since I don’t have a medicine ball)
  • Reverse Lunges

This workout kicked my butt!!!  I had trouble doing 40 seconds of the mountain climbers and the high-knee run-in-place.  I was able to get about 20 seconds in and then I had to rest.  The 20 seconds rest in between sets goes by so fast!

I’m hoping that after 1 month of doing this circuit I will be able to get a solid 40 seconds of the mountain climbers and the run-in-place.  I know I’m going to be sore tomorrow but I think that’s a good thing!

Anyone else try a new workout today?

 

This entry was posted in Exercise and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Changing It Up

  1. Looks like a great workout! I may have to steal it.

    Yesterday, I did Jackie Warner’s total body circuit workout. I have one it before, but only once and it was a while ago. It is a very tough workout and my body is feeling it today.

  2. That sounds like a great workout! I may try something like it later this week – thanks 🙂

  3. NICE workout!!! Love all of the different exercises in one workout. I might just have to give it a try 😉

  4. What a cool workout concept. I like the idea of mixing it up between timed and reps. I sure looks like a good workout.

  5. Looks like you were hitting all of the muscles! I might try this today 🙂

Leave a Reply

