Marinated Chicken Fingers

Working from home was surprisingly productive today!  There was a break in the snow for most of the afternoon but it started back up again right around 4.  It’s been snowing pretty good for several hours now and is expected to continue until the wee hours of the morning.

The table on the deck looks like this now:

IMG_2336

While I worked for most of the day, the girls found many ways to entertain themselves!  Nothing says “snow day” like spending the day in our bathing suits.

IMG_2327

The bathing suits also served as tutus for a ballet recital.  I guess they are practicing for Kinderdance tomorrow night. 

Eats today included:

  • AM Snack – Peach Chobani with granola

IMG_2324

  • Lunch – Morningstar Veggie patty with rice pilaf

IMG_2325

  • PM Snack – a cup of coffee
  • Dinner – chicken fingers, couscous and zucchini

IMG_2334

I attacked the zucchini before snapping a picture so the portion looks a little smaller than it was.  I tried a new technique for making the chicken tenders tonight.

I started by marinating the chicken in some bbq/wing sauce for about 2 hours.

IMG_2331

I used this jar of Sylvia’s sauce that Kyle brought home from work several weeks ago.

IMG_2330

After marinating the chicken I dredged them in bread crumbs.

IMG_2332

Next, I baked them on a cookie sheet lined with foil and sprayed with PAM in a 400* oven for 25 minutes.

IMG_2333

The flavor of the marinade was subtle, but tasty.  I liked the flavor of the sauce…it was a little tangy, a little sweet and a little spicy. 

The breading still didn’t stay on the chicken.  Sad smile  I am never able to get the breading to stay on, even when I dredge in flour and eggs first.  Not sure that the deal is!  I guess it’s something to keep working on!

Does anyone have any tips for getting the breading to stay on the chicken?

Hope everyone in the Northeast is staying warm and cozy! 

This entry was posted in Eats, Family, Girls, Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Marinated Chicken Fingers

  1. I always dip the chicken in something like eggs or egg whites first to get it to stick. Maybe thatll help…

    looks like a nice day at home!

  2. I like dipping the chicken in egg and then using panko crumbs. Bute even then I still have problems somtimes! You marinade sounds yummy!

Leave a Reply

