Switching It Up

As the month of January comes to a close, it’s time for me to switch up my workouts once again.   I haven’t been doing a good job of including my workouts in my blog…that’s going to change this month.  Look for more posts about my workouts and new exercises I have tried.

With the help of my personal trainer, the husband, I developed my workout schedule for January:

  • Monday – Treadmill cardio session & Abs
  • Tuesday – Shoulders and Triceps strength training
  • Wednesday – Legs strength training & Abs
  • Thursday – Off (it’s Kinderdance night)
  • Friday – Elliptical cardio session & Abs
  • Saturday – Chest strength training & Treadmill cardio
  • Sunday – Back and Biceps strength training and elliptical cardio

I switched my off day from Monday to Thursday because of Kinderdance.  It’s not possible for me to get a workout in on Thursday and I didn’t really want to have 2 days.  Some of the cardio sessions will be HIIT and others will be longer endurance sessions.

Yesterday, I got right back into the strength training with a great chest workout!!

  • Bench Press w/ Barbell – 4 sets
  • Superset #1:
    • Incline Bench Press w/ Dumbbells – 4 sets
    • Incline Chest Flyes – 4 sets
  • Superset #2:
    • Resistance Bank Crossover Flyes – 4 sets
    • Push-ups (on my knees) – 4 sets

I use BodySpace on Bodybuilding.com to track my strength training workouts.  They have great tools for tracking your workouts and analyzing your workouts and progress. 

The final part of my workout consisted of 20 minutes of intervals on the treadmill with no incline:

  • 2 min. @ 3.0
  • 3 min. @ 5.0
  • 1 min. @ 7.0
  • 2 min. @ 5.0
  • Repeat the 1 min./2 min. 4 times
  • 3 min @ 5.0

A good workout always makes my day so much better!!

This entry was posted in Exercise and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.